Awards and Juries 2020

International Jury

President: Danièle Bélanger (Université Laval, Canada)


Éva Beaujouan (Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria)

Nico Keilman (University of Oslo, Norway)

Lidia Panico (INED, France)

Anne Solaz (INED, France)

Non-voting members : Olivia Samuel (Université de Versailles Saint-Quentin, France), Aline Désesquelles (INED, France)

2020 selection process

Thirteen papers (seven in English, six in French) were submitted this year to compete for the Young Author’s Prize, organized by the journal Population. The variety of the papers reflects the range of issues addressed in population studies today, as well as the diversity of interests of early-career researchers from around the world. The authors come from four continents: Europe, Africa, and North and South America. Most of the articles deal with the traditional subjects of demography (mortality, fertility, and migration).

The competition was organized as follows. Of the thirteen articles received, seven were not selected for the jury’s review either because their topics or approaches did not fall within the aim and scope of the journal or because they were insufficiently robust. Each of the six remaining articles was sent to two external reviewers, following the regular evaluation procedure. The members of the jury met on 10 February 2020 to examine each article, taking into consideration the reviewers’ reports.

The jury found that none of the six articles could be published as they stood or with only minor modifications. The jury therefore decided not to award the prize this year. Nevertheless, for three articles of undeniable quality, the authors were asked to revise and resubmit their text to the journal’s editorial board. The authors of all six reviewed articles received detailed comments and suggestions on their work from which they can benefit.

On behalf of the jury, the jury like to congratulate all the authors who participated and to encourage early-career researchers from all over the world to compete in the 2021 edition of the prize.